Posted in Foreign Service

Farewell 2020; Farewell Blog!

At our first post in Belize in 2011.

Well, I think it’s about that time, folks, to wish you all a fond farewell. In April it will have been 10 years that I’ve been writing about our lives, and this June will mark 10 years since I joined the Foreign Service. This is my 446th blog post.

If we were going back to the States for a tour or two, I’d probably keep it going. But if we’re going to be there for the better part of the next decade, that kind of takes the “foreign” out of my Foreign Service blog. So instead of looking back at 2020, I will briefly reflect on 2011-2021.

The first five years were definitely the best for our family. If you like, you can read my Five-Year FS Anniversary post here. We started in Belize, then went to London, and afterward started our tour in Iceland. London was where we were the happiest. And I have loved living in Europe in general…the history, the architecture, the variety of cultures, the food, and the easy travel.

The last five years have been full of loss and disappointment. But never in the career choice. The Foreign Service and the Department of State have been a surrogate family, providing resources when life outside of work got hard. Even now I have a place to land when we leave Geneva and will continue to stay in the Foreign Service, hopefully until I retire at age 65.

Now that we’re heading back Stateside, I am thankful for what has been an amazing period in my life serving my country overseas. I’m thankful for all the friends that I have made along the way and all the family and friends that made the effort to come and visit us abroad.

And I’m thankful for my readers! I’ve loved reading your comments and knowing that someone out there was sharing and enjoying our adventures. I wish you all the best in your future and the very happiest new year in 2021. Stay safe and healthy out there!

Ciao!!

2 thoughts on “Farewell 2020; Farewell Blog!

  1. I can’t really “like” this post, if that makes sense. I will really miss In Flight Movie! I hope your move goes smoothly and that you settle into your new home well. Happy holidays and let’s keep in touch!

Leave a comment