View of the sun in Reykjavik on New Year's Eve right after noon at 12:38pm.

View of the sun in Reykjavik at noon on New Year’s Eve.

I can’t remember the last time I was so relieved to see the end of a calendar year. We have a pretty good and comfortable life that maintains a fairly even emotional keel most of the time (when we’re not moving), but sometimes those years come along that throw everything out of balance.

2016 was definitely one of them. Mostly because I lost three members of my family…my mother, my grandmother and my aunt; and my husband lost a younger cousin. Technically my grandmother passed away at the end of 2015, but I’m including her in the ridiculous death toll that affected so many in 2016.

On a much smaller scale, but still an emotional issue for our family, our son was diagnosed with ADHD and a small motor tic disorder. I know this is not a HUGE problem, and there are much worse things out there. And we’re so thankful for the bright, affectionate and funny boy that he is.

But it does affect his medical clearance…not to mention its impact on his education, how he’s expected to perform in the classroom and the potential struggles he will have for the rest of his life. You always want the best for your children. You want them to be happy and successful and to have a good life. He will just have to try a little bit harder to achieve these things.

But we did have some good times!

We survived the first year of life with a giant dog…that after the first six months finally stopped urinating and defecating all over my new Ikea rug. Ugh, so disgusting! And he successfully graduated from puppy obedience school, so technically, he’s better behaved now. 😉

Happy New Year from me and Thorfinn!

Happy New Year from me and Thorfinn!

We had lots of great visitors come spend time with us in Iceland (probably more than the amount that visited us the whole two years we were in London!), which always makes me so happy.

During the summer, we had a fantastic three-week family R&R. We got to visit friends in the UK, and spend some fun time as tourists in Edinburgh, Inverness and Paris.

And we’ve tried to get out a bit and make the most of life in our current country. Some highlights include: hanging out in natural hot springs, seeing auroras, visiting spring lamb farms, collecting sea glass on the beach, and spending time with new friends. A much quieter lifestyle than our previous post.

I also joined a local women’s choir, completed a fun online Viking history course, and got promoted at work. It doesn’t change my job particularly, but I do make a little bit more money, which is never a bad thing.

Oh, and A lost his first tooth! The tooth fairy brought him a shiny gold Sacajawea dollar all the way from the States.

So it’s been a hell of a year…with some great ups and some serious downs.  Throughout my life, I’ve always noticed that the odd years are slightly better for me than the evens.

So here’s to 2017…I hope it brings us all more highs than lows! Happy New Year, everyone!!

