1. A's first Halloween, Colorado 2010. 2. A and friend at the international department's Halloween party, Iceland 2016. 3. Me as Maleficent, Iceland 2016.

1. A’s first Halloween, Colorado 2010. 2. A and friend at the school’s Halloween party, Iceland 2016. 3. Me as Maleficent, Iceland 2016.

I’ve always liked Halloween, but I didn’t really do much about it for the fifteen or so years between graduating from high school and getting married. When we lived in Colorado I kind of missed it and was looking for a reason to dress up one year, so we bought tickets to a Halloween event at the Molly Brown House Museum and grabbed a couple cheap costumes, which was fun.

Even after we had A, we’ve expended varying amounts of effort but have mostly focused on him, of course. Some years we’ve pulled off coordinated family outfits. When we were in London, I don’t think we (the grown-ups) dressed up at all because there was so much going on, and there were so many kids, it didn’t really matter. Now that we’re at a smaller post, getting dressed up has more entertainment value.

And I’ve finally realized that I get surprisingly stressed out at children’s Halloween parties. Apparently I’m really protective of A because he got really scared and upset a couple times in London. They’re usually crowded with a ton of chaotic kid energy. And I HATE balloons…well, I hate them being popped in my face anyway. Maybe I should have a couple glasses of wine beforehand.

Last year, I think we did a pretty good job as a family. We were all Lego Avengers characters. A was Thor, N was Captain America, and I was the Statue of Liberty. But I’d gone cheap and used a mint green sheet instead of buying a costume…and it kept falling apart at the party. So this year, I made sure I ordered a good costume ahead of time, and I really enjoyed this one.

No real theme this year though…A wanted to be the Black Power Ranger, so we all just kind of picked something. I chose Maleficent from Sleeping Beauty. The horns were the best. And my hubby wore a dog mask and a tweed jacket…a Dapper Dog, so to speak. He couldn’t wear it in the house though or Thorfinn would attack him. 😉 So we’ll see what we can come up with next year.

I hope you all had a lovely Halloween!

