The University of Oxford, UK.

The University of Oxford, England.

As you can imagine, being an office manager isn’t exactly neuroscience. So on occasion I try to find something more structured and educational to keep my brain from atrophying.

The last year we were in Belize, I was very excited about our impending move to London and discovered that the University of Oxford has a great distance learning program through their Department of Continuing Education. So I enrolled in an online course about Roman Britain.

It was a lot of fun to chat with the professor and other online students from all over the world, and it really opened my eyes to a period in British history that I hadn’t paid much attention to.

And when we lived there, it made my personal experience much richer being able to recognize and visit significant Roman sites around the country. Even a year after we left, I was thrilled to visit Hadrian’s Wall and Vindolanda Roman Fort while we were on R&R in Scotland and Northern England. 🙂

I didn’t take any classes while we were in London since we were so busy, and I spent most of my spare home computer time researching things to do on the weekends in the city. But now that we’re in Reykjavik, and life is quite a bit quieter, I’ve enrolled in another class called “Vikings: Raiders, Traders and Settlers.”

It’s a perfect subject considering our current location in Iceland with its long association with Viking history and culture and the Old Norse language. And so far, I have not been disappointed!

If you’re interested in taking a class, you can see all the available courses on their website. They have over 150 available in everything from Microeconomics to Northern Renaissance Art to Ancient Egyptian Archaeology and Contemporary British Fiction.

It’s really easy to register. And you’ll get an email with your logon information and course information when it starts. The classes are all pass/fail, so there’s no pressure to get certain grades. Plus it’s fun to get a little transcript from one of the world’s oldest universities at the end. 🙂

