I had two more lovely ladies from Embassy London come visit me the weekend before Easter. It was a whirlwind trip. They flew in late on Friday night and left on Sunday afternoon. But we still got some visiting and some fun tourist stuff in.

I couldn’t do this in London because it was so huge, but I’m attempting to try every restaurant in Reykjavik in the three years that we’re here. So we knocked out a few more of those…the Grey Cat for breakfast and Sakebarinn for my first sushi in Iceland.

The Arctic Char Nigiri with lemon juice was particularly tasty…although I’ve since heard you have to watch for worms in raw Arctic Char…eww. So I’m sticking to the one with lemon juice on it. We also popped into the Sky Bar for drinks. They have an amazing view of the mountains across the water. My hubby and I had stopped in for lunch for the first time the week before, and they also have a great lobster salad.

Arctic Char Nigiri and Philadelphia Roll at Sakebarinn.

Arctic Char Nigiri and Philadelphia Roll at Sakebarinn.

For the tourist stuff, we hit the Golden Circle. And the Icelandic landscape is ever changing! We pulled over at one point to photograph some beautiful melt ponds with rainbows behind. Further on, I missed the turn for the lookout at Þingvellir, so we took the southern approach and got a new view of the cliffs and found a pretty little rushing melt waterfall.

Rainbow and melt pond on the Golden Circle.

Rainbow and melt pond on the Golden Circle.

Little waterfall at Þingvellir.

Little waterfall at Þingvellir.

And I must say the tourists are definitely back as it was wicked crowded at the geyser. After that, we hopped out for a quick photo at the Gullfoss waterfall and then continued on to lunch at Café Mika in Reykholt. I must say I was a bit disappointed in their lobster salad as the dressing was a bit watery and the lobster bits were small.

We also got up close and personal with some lovely horses that were hanging out on the side of the road. I tried to pet one and it seemed to think my fingers were carrots and started nibbling on them.

Icelandic horse hanging out in the wind.

Icelandic horse hanging out in the wind.

We spent the next morning at the Blue Lagoon, which had been completely changed around after the last time that I was there. I guess they were quite busy during their renovation in January. But it was still lovely and relaxing. And we had a tasty lunch in the Lava Restaurant before heading to the airport.

So that was the last installment of girlfriends visiting Iceland for a while. Thank you all so much! It’s been so lovely being able to spend time with you!

