Slipbarrinn, Reykajvik: Sea trout on a Himalayan salt block with yuzu mayo, truffle mayo, crunchy quinoa, and apple (Tripadvisor photo).

Slipbarrinn, Reykajvik: Sea trout on a Himalayan salt block with yuzu mayo, truffle mayo, crunchy quinoa, and apple (Tripadvisor photo…mine was crap).

The food in Iceland so far is FANTASTIC. Rotten shark, sheep heads and horse meat aside, they have a ton of restaurants, and many of them embrace the ethos of Nordic Cuisine, which is using fresh local and seasonal ingredients with simplicity and freshness…so lots of lamb and fish, root vegetables and grassy herbs.

I like to think of myself as a fairly decent cook. The only problem is that I rather loathe the cooking process. The futility of it annoys me to no end…why spend more than 20 minutes preparing anything that will be decimated in less than 10.

Slippbarinn, Reykjavik: "Fish in a Pan" with the fresh fish of the day, sunchokes, broccoli and greens.

Slippbarinn, Reykjavik: “Fish in a Pan” with the fresh fish of the day, sunchokes, broccoli, and greens.

This is not a secret. When I told my mother that I was getting married way back when, she asked me in all seriousness, “Does he know you don’t cook?” My husband on the other hand loves to cook. He once worked for the Art Institute of Washington, which housed a branch of the Culinary Institute of America, so he was able to chat with the chefs, learn some great techniques and take a few classes here and there.

For the first couple years we alternated who would make dinner at night. When we had our son, that kind of went away. I would forage in the kitchen while preparing bottles and eventually solid food for the little one, and my hubby would fend for himself later on. When we were in Belize he became very enthusiastic about preparing meals while he was waiting for a job to open up, but the enthusiasm eventually waned and never reignited in subsequent tours.

Lava Restaurant, Blue Lagoon: Beef tenderloin with Mushroom Pomme Anna, pearl onion, Icelandic beer hollandaise foam.

Apotek Restaurant, Reykjavik: Beef tenderloin with Mushroom Pomme Anna, pearl onion, and Icelandic beer hollandaise foam.

To put it bluntly, we’ve been in a food rut for the last few years and prefer to eat out. Occasionally I get all motivated and think, I’m going to take over the kitchen and make sure we all eat healthy from now on! No more pizza delivery, cheesy wraps or jam sandwiches for dinner. And I assume that every other mother in the world is successful in doing such things, except me. But it never lasts, and I eventually fall back into convenient patterns.

So I’m going public this time!! And I’m prepared to acknowledge my short comings…like complicated recipes on a work day are not a good choice. So I’m going to try to devote a little extra time on the weekends to making special meals à la Nordic Cuisine…and see where we go from there. I’ll keep you posted! But don’t get your expectations too high…we’ll see if I make it past Taco Tuesday. 😉

Lava Restaurant, Blue Lagoon: Arctic char with fennel, pearl onion, cucumber, toasted bread aioli.

Lava Restaurant, Blue Lagoon: Arctic char with fennel, pearl onion, cucumber, and toasted bread aioli.

