It’s been three months since we were in Arizona on home leave. If you’ve been following my blog for any length of time you probably caught my post about our visit to the Pima Air & Space Museum in late July and how I’d been inspired to visit there ever since watching one of my favorite ’80s teen movies, Can’t Buy Me Love.

So imagine my surprise this morning when I was clicking through an online article from Entertainment Weekly about the stars we’d lost in 2015…and I saw Amanda Peterson’s beautiful face shining out at me. Apparently she’d died of a drug overdose one short week before we’d arrived in Tucson, and I’d never even heard about it.

For some reason, her passing makes me incredibly sad. I’d loved her in that film and her other characters in movies like Annie, Explorers, and Listen to Me. She hadn’t acted since 1994, had two children and was twice divorced. When she died, she was only 43, receiving disability benefits and living alone in an apartment in Greeley, Colorado. That too makes me sad.

I guess I will have to agree with the statement that Patrick Dempsey made when he heard of her death. “In my memory, she will always be vibrant and young.”  I wish you much rest and peace, Amanda Peterson.

cant-buy-me-love

Amanda Peterson movie still 1987.

