The Brits have a few crazy local foods. Since we arrived I’ve become a big fan of chutneys, which I’ve mentioned before. And I have an English friend who sent me a list of classic British foods I should try including Spotted Dick, Toad in the Hole, Bubble & Squeak, Eaton Mess and Welsh Rarebit. I haven’t gotten around to those yet, but I have had Black Pudding, Scotch Eggs, Steak Pie, Haggis and am a huge fan of Bangers & Mash.

The other day I stumbled across a new condiment that left me so confused, I had to look it up: Pickled Walnuts. What on earth is a pickled walnut? What about that horrible crunchy shell? Do you have to crack it first?

Obviously the answer is, no. Because they pickle them when they’re green before the shells harden. I had to buy some, of course. And I’ve decided they taste a bit like a large olive that’s been sweet pickled.

I also had to look up how they’re served since I’m known to eat things directly out of the jar standing over the sink. Apparently they are excellent on salads and as part of a cold cuts or antipasto tray, and also go well with beef dishes. So there you have it.

Pickled walnuts.

Pickled walnuts.

