It was FANTASTIC! Need I say more?

Seriously though, I’m actually not a huge theatre-goer. I find the sweeping gestures and over-enunciation and yelling to reach the audience in the back a bit tedious and predictable. I do however LOVE cinema and how the smallest facial expression will be 15 feet across on the big screen.

I used to want to be a film actor when I was a little girl and would practice my own facial expressions and monologues in the bathroom mirror. So what I do pay attention to in the London theatre scene are the Stars on Stage…”a selection of stars and personalities appearing or about to appear on the London stage.”

We just missed Jude Law in Henry V when we arrived last year, and unfortunately never got around to seeing Martin Freeman in Richard III. But I was very happy to see Matthew MacFadyen in Jeeves & Wooster…and of course, Kristin Scott Thomas last weekend in Electra.

KST is an amazing actress and has been in almost 100 films, my favorite of which was, of course, The English Patient. That film was almost 20 years ago, and she’s still beautiful and charismatic with an amazing amount of energy.

Kristin Scott Thomas and Ralph Fiennes in The English Patient (phot from IMDB).

Kristin Scott Thomas and Ralph Fiennes in “The English Patient”, 1996 (photo from IMDB).

Kristin Scott Thomas as Electra.

Kristin Scott Thomas as Electra, 2014 (photo by Johan Persson).

ELECTRA by Sophocles

KST and Jack Lowden as Electra and Orestes (photo by Johan Persson).

If you’re not familiar with the story of Electra, she was a character in Greek mythology…one of the daughters of Queen Clytemnestra and King Agamemnon. Clytemnestra and her lover, Aegisthus, kill Agamemnon after he returns from the Trojan War. And Electra and her brother, Orestes (played by award-winning Scottish actor Jack Lowden) seek to avenge his death…basically by killing their mother and new stepfather.

I popped out on a Saturday afternoon with a single ticket to see the 3:00 matinee at the Old Vic theatre, which is a Grade II listed building from 1818 near Waterloo station south of the Thames. The theatre was lovely and small. So my £55 ticket got me a seat in the seventh row, which was barely 30 feet from the actors.

The first thing that struck me was how familiar her voice was. It had exactly the same soft British accent as in The English Patient and Four Weddings and a Funeral.  And her whole portrayal was so natural and convincing compared to the stiffer stage actors. I absolutely loved it and am so excited I got a chance to see her in person.

Here are a few professional reviews of the show:

The TelegraphElectra, Old Vic: ‘theatre at its best’
BBC News: Electra: Kristin Scott Thomas thrills critics at Old Vic
The New York TimesForgive and Forget? Not Her
The Huffington PostKristin Scott Thomas in Electra, Old Vic Theatre

Next on the agenda: James McAvoy in The Ruling Class, Emma Thompson in Sweeney Todd, and Ralph Fiennes (aka Valdemort!) in Man + Superman!

