Before we even arrived in the UK, my hubby had wanted to do the VIP Supercar Experience. I’d seen it advertised on Living Social a few times, and it looked pretty cool. So when it came up again right before his birthday, I snapped it up. It was the only real gift I got him other than our trip to Scotland.

And can I just say how much I love Living Social?? It was on sale for £90, and when I went to make the reservation with our voucher on the website, I saw that it normally retails for over £450, which at the moment is over $700 USD. Personally I can’t imagine paying anywhere NEAR that amount for a few trips in a car around a track. But happily we didn’t have to, and the boys had a really good time.

The track is north of London up in Hemel Hempstead. My hubby got to self-drive three laps each in all three of the following vehicles: a Lamborghini Gallardo, a Porsche 911 Turbo, and an Audi R8 V10 Spyder. (The 2015 MSRPs for those vehicles are approximately $215K, $150K, and $130K.)

He also got to do a couple laps as a passenger with a professional driver in a KTM X-bow. Surprisingly, he enjoyed the ride in the Porsche the best…I would’ve thought the Lamborghini would be the most impressive. But apparently it was really uncomfortable, and the Turbo was a little monster.

Our son also got to have a spin in the KTM for an extra £20, which I was far from comfortable with. Anytime I have to sign a waiver for my four-year-old in case of accidental death and then let him drive off with a total stranger…I am not going to be happy. But my hubby assured me all would be well…and it was. He had a blast! And the driver got a kick out of it as well.

The line up.

The line up…all right hand drive.

The Lamborghini Gallardo.

My hubby in the Lamborghini Gallardo.

The pro driver and our son in the KTM.

The pro driver and our son in the KTM.

I think the most stressful part of the day was the actual drive from London to the track. I had Googled it the day before and printed out a nice little map to compliment my hubby’s occasionally spotty GPS, and it had quoted us a time of about 35 mins. So we left 90 minutes early. Once we plugged in the GPS, it gave us an estimated travel time of 1 hour and 56 mins for a journey of less than 25 miles.

Needless to say, I freaked out. Apparently there was a huge accident on one of the roads leading off of the highway. But we gave it a shot anyway, decided to bypass our suggested exit, take the next one, and spent the next 30 minutes winding our way through terrifying single-lane country roads stuffed between tall hedgerows. More than once we had to throw it in reverse to find the last pull out and evade oncoming traffic.

But we finally made it with minutes to spare…only to find out that they were accommodating all the late comers from the morning who had stayed on the highway…so we ended up sitting and waiting for the better part of two hours. But the boys still enjoyed it, and the drive home was much more relaxing by comparison.

