Can I just say how happy I am with the exchange rate at the moment?? When we arrived in September of last year, the exchange rate between pounds and dollars suddenly jumped and has been climbing since we’ve been here. It’s usually about 1.5 or 1.6 USD to 1 GBP (Great British Pound…or if you work at the US Embassy and are trying to confuse the locals, it’s BPS for British Pound Sterling), but at our bank it has been hovering around 1.8 for the longest time.

I know it doesn’t sound like much, but for most of our tour, when I pay the £1010 GBP per month for my son’s nursery school, it costs me close to $1900 USD. Today, I paid his fees, and it was less than $1600. That’s $300 saved!! And good thing too, because things are getting kind of tight around here financially.

Normally it wouldn’t be that big of a deal. But now we’re looking at transferring posts possibly in July, so it’s time to start saving for home leave, and the joy of dragging your family around the States and then back overseas…not to mention the cost of setting up shop in a new country, vehicle registration ($350 USD), quarantine ($1,100 USD), etc…

So yay for the exchange rate! And I hope it continues to descend.

2013 GBP to USD exchange rates.

2013 USD to GBP exchange rates. (source: http://www.x-rates.com)

2014 GBP to USD exchange rates.

2014 USD to GBP exchange rates.

