I spent three days in Wales at the beginning of the month supporting the NATO Summit. I had visions of sleeping in with no children around, pampering myself at the hotel, touring Wales in my off time and being part of something truly important. Well, one out of four isn’t bad. I ended up on the night shift.

We took a car from the embassy in London over to Wales and arrived on Wednesday afternoon. On Thursday morning I worked from 5am to 11am. I also killed four spiders in my hotel room, so needless to say I didn’t sleep much before I reported back to work at 1am on Friday morning. I worked until 9am and then went back at 5:00pm to help break down the office we’d set up.

So I didn’t end up seeing much outside of the hotel I was staying in and the one I was working in, which weren’t actually the same thing and made for an interesting commute at 4am. But at least I got to see some bright stars in the sky, which is difficult with all the light pollution in London. And I got to stay here…

Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel.

Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel.

And I did get some alone time. I also got to follow the Summit events on the news, knowing I was helping out a little, and that it was not too far away. And it looks like some great things came out of it. Here’re a few details:

“The summit was hosted by British Prime Minister David Cameron. Attendees included U.S. President Barack Obama, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, French President François Hollande, and Italian Prime Minister Matteo Renzi. There were another 180 VIPs, and 4,000 delegates and officials from approximately 60 countries.

“The following declarations and agreements were made :

  1. Wales Summit Declaration reconfirming their commitment to each other.
  2. Joint Expeditionary Force Agreement signed with partners from Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands and Norway, that aims to develop the Joint Expeditionary Force (JEF) so that it is fully operational before 2018.
  3. Armed Forces Declaration reaffirming support for the men and women serving in the Armed Forces and their families.
  4. Joint Statement of the NATO-Ukraine Commission pledging support of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders.
  5. Declaration on Afghanistan thanking international and Afghan military for their support and outlining continued peace processes.

“At the end of the summit Ukrainian President Poroshenko announced a ceasefire which had been agreed with one of the leading pro-Russia separatist leaders, under terms proposed by Russian President Vladimir Putin, which was cautiously welcomed by NATO leaders.” (Wikipedia)

World leaders pose for photo at Cardiff Castle.

World leaders pose for photo at Cardiff Castle.

