My hubby and I celebrated our sixth anniversary on the 3rd. Since it was a 3-day weekend for the UK, and our last two anniversaries in Belize had been pretty low key, we thought of going to Paris or some other travel destination, but nothing felt right. And we realized it would not be remotely romantic with a three-year-old in tow.

In the end we decided to get a sitter and splurge on a day out in London. So we had a decadent lunch at the Ritz Restaurant, which was a fun experience, but ridiculously overpriced, as you can imagine. One glass of champagne was more than what I would usually spend on a bottle. But the service was impeccable.

The presentation was a bit odd though, because we ordered our meal, and then random things would appear at intervals along the way that weren’t mentioned on the menu…like canapés, a side item to share (French beans), and a tiny tray of sweets since we didn’t order dessert.

But the flavor was excellent. I think I was most impressed by the salmon mousse in lime meringue. I usually hate meringue, but this was perfectly balanced and just melted in your mouth. We both ordered salads (mine was quail and his was lobster), which cracked me since they came out with a bit of green as a garnish, and the rest looked more like an appetizer.  My kind of salad! For my main, I had venison au jus, and my hubby had tournedos of beef with truffle sauce (aka steak).

The Ritz Restaurant.

The Ritz Restaurant.

Canapes: Lime Meringue and Smoked Salmon Mousse, shrimp on puffed seaweed cake, puffed cheese pastry.

Canapes: Lime Meringue and Smoked Salmon Mousse, shrimp on puffed seaweed cake, puffed cheese pastry.

Lobster salad.

Lobster salad.

Quail salad.

Quail salad.

Tournedos of beef with truffle sauce.

Tournedos of beef with truffle sauce.

A tray of sweets at the end of our meal.

A tray of sweets at the end of our meal.

We followed lunch with a showing of The Book of Mormon at The Prince of Wales Theatre. My husband has always been a big fan of the South Park boys and had wanted to see their play since he’d first heard of it. And he was not disappointed! It was as outrageous and irreverent as he was hoping.

I enjoy a bit of off-color humor as well, but, man, I still cringe at the thought of saying some of the things that were coming out of those actors’ mouths. But it was funny, and very well acted, and the music and choreography were really impressive. It was obvious that a lot of effort and talent went into that production. So I would definitely recommend it to those not easily offended.

Production still from The Book of Mormon.

Production still from The Book of Mormon.

We then capped off our day with a couples massage from a lovely little day spa near the embassy. The space was lovely and relaxing, if a little small. I think they only had two or three treatment rooms. And for the couples massage, they just open the center door between two rooms. So no hand holding or anything. But it was still a great day out for our anniversary and probably cost a third of what we would’ve spent if we’d left town with the whole family.

