We’re thinking of heading to Amsterdam one of these weekends, and I was looking up typical Dutch souvenirs. I’m not really into Delftware or clogs or any of the normally illegal things that they’re known for and can jeopardize a security clearance. I like architecture, canals and tulips. I also like cheese, and Dutch cheese is apparently a popular souvenir.

As you may or may not know, the UK has VERY strick import rules for virtually everything including meat, dairy products and potatoes. But today I came across a great site that I thought I’d share. It’s the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) site’s search function for imported goods.

That’s right, you just put in the country you’re coming from, the item’s category and the specific product, and voila! It tells you all the rules and restrictions relating to that product. Happily, Dutch cheese is not on the list. 🙂

 

DEFRA search results for Dutch cheese.

DEFRA search results for Dutch cheese.

 

 

