One of my best friends just came to visit for a week. She left Tuesday, and I was sad to see her go. But we had a great time while she was here!

One of the highlights of the trip (other than spending quality time with my friend, of course) was snorkeling off of Ambergris Caye! It’s been on my bucket list for a while, so I was super excited to be able to get out and finally see the Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray Alley. We flew from the municipal airport and had a nice view of the reef on the way, then spent the morning in the water.

We had great visibility, and hopefully I got some good pictures with my not-so-cheap disposable underwater camera. No one-hour developing available…but they promised to get the prints to me in five days. The only real bummer of the trip was the fact that my hubby lost his wedding ring in the sea. And it wasn’t just any wedding ring; it was the one that he’d made by hand in a silver class we took in Antarctica before we got married.

After that, we did the usual trips to Xunantunich and the zoo. Junior Buddy was out this time for some R&R and medical check-ups, so we took the whole family and did the “High Five” with Lucky Boy instead of getting our foreheads licked.

Shaking hands with Lucky Boy.

High Five with Lucky Boy.

Lucky Boy was rescued from a resort last year…starving and emaciated. The other jaguar that was in captivity with him actually did die. The resort was so corrupt and poorly managed that the employees actually burned part of it down a few months later because they hadn’t been paid their wages (see this article in the Belize news). Happily, the Forestry Department had already collected the remaining jaguar and delivered him to the Belize Zoo for rehabilitation, and he’s doing really well.

Other than that, we had a pretty quiet Easter. My hubby made some lovely pulled pork in the slow cooker, and we spent some time swimming in the compound pool. Our toddler has just started taking swim lessons, and he’s a little fish and loves the water.

The week-long visit went way too quickly, and then it was time for my friend to head home. On the way to the airport for her departure flight, we stopped at one of the gift shops to see their pet coatimundi…but it had been killed by dogs. So I think it goes without saying that it’s tough to be an animal in Belize. They’re lucky to have such a great zoo. If you’re feeling generous, and you’d like to support them and adopt an animal, you can fill out this online form. I’m sure they’d appreciate it.

But I think my friend summed it up at one point. She said, “It’s great seeing how you guys live. And it’s great that it’s not me.” Ha ha! 🙂 We only have three months left in country, and we’re pretty much ready to go. (Did I mention that our departure date got bumped up by a month?  Yay!!)

There’re a couple things that I’d still like to do…see the ruins at Altun Ha, visit Caye Caulker, do one more trip to Placencia and make a sandcastle with our son, maybe spend the day on one of the catamaran’s I saw in San Pedro last week.

We have two more groups of visitors coming in the next two months, so maybe we’ll be able to squeeze all that in. If not, I’m not too worried. Home Leave is just around the corner.

