Thanksgiving is the day after tomorrow, so I thought I’d take the opportunity to wish everyone a Happy Turkey Day and to give some thought to the things that I’m thankful for. I apparently didn’t do this last year, and looking back at what I was posting at the time, I’m not surprised. I guess I was still going through a bit of culture shock. But I’ve mellowed out a bit since then and am very conscious of my blessings. So let me just go down the list. I’m very thankful for…

  • My wonderfully adventurous, supportive, loving and gorgeous husband and baby’s daddy.
  • My little blond charismatic, affectionate, wildly intelligent, happy and curious baby boy.
  • My loving and supportive family.
  • My fantastic job.
  • My future dream post in London.
  • Good friends near and far.
  • Nice weather.
  • The fact that we’re financially stable, have a lovely house to live in, a reliable vehicle and plenty of food.
  • That I’m finally getting back in shape after two years post-baby.
  • That we come from a country that values, encourages and supports individual freedoms.
  • That we’re all generally happy and healthy and safe.
  • And all the little blessings in between.

It’s funny, after rereading those things, I’m reminded of the old superstitions regarding counting your blessings out loud. They say you shouldn’t in case the mischievous gods take them all away. I guess I’ll just keep my fingers crossed and hope that the old mischievous gods aren’t internet savvy.

