I’ve always kind of believed in the old adage that if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. So I won’t go into great detail about how I feel right now with all of the attacks on U.S….and British and German…embassies in the Middle East and North Africa. I’m incredibly proud of Secretary Clinton and how she has managed to remain diplomatic yet not sugar coat the situation. (To read some of the public speeches she gave this week, go to the State website.)

I’m still very happy that we joined the Foreign Service and am so thankful that we are in a comparatively safe area. I pray for all of our colleagues and the families that lost loved ones this week. I’ve seen the memorial walls at the State Department building in DC and am very sad to know that new names will be added to them.

