Family Activities

I know this might sound strange, but after a year (two by the time we leave) of being trapped on a housing compound, I will be so excited just to take our son to the park and let him run! Don’t get me wrong, the housing compound is gorgeous. I love our house, and I love the safety and protection it has offered. And there is a pool and a small playground for the kids, which has been perfect for him so far since he’s so little. But the idea of actually being able to take him to a children’s museum, an aquarium, a zoo or a lovely park as a family where he can play without overheating fills me with joy!

Sightseeing

Let’s face it, Belize is small…REALLY small…and rural and isolated. Other than checking out the Mayan ruins or scuba diving, there’s not much to do here unless you’re really into birding or jungle trekking, which is not my idea of fun. I can’t even begin to think of all the things there are to do in London…and the U.K…and the Continent. The things that we’ll have access to and the travel destinations available just blow my mind at the moment.

Shopping

And don’t even get me started on shopping. We have a couple dusty Chinese grocery stores with no air conditioning in Belmopan…or you can drive an hour to Belize City for a larger grocery store…or drive three hours to Chetumal on the Mexican border if you want something even bigger like Sam’s Club or Walmart. London not only has shopping, but it has shopping malls, vintage shopping, window shopping, and huge and clean farmer’s markets with fresh berries! I miss berries.

Entertainment

Believe it or not, there is no movie theater in Belize. Sorry if I’ve mentioned that a few times in previous posts…but it still amazes me. In London there will be not only cinemas, but live theater and opera and symphony (and babysitters!)!  Puppet shows and Shakespeare in the park. There will be a Marine Ball!! And a friend of mine has already turned me on to LivingSocial London with all kinds of discounts and ideas for great activities.

And of course, it’s Britain!

One of my favorite countries in the world! Full of history and culture and pubs and dry humor.  “The country of Shakespeare, Churchill, the Beatles, Sean Connery, Harry Potter. David Beckham’s right foot. David Beckham’s left foot, come to that.” 😉

