I thought I’d throw them all into one big post for the last month or so.

The Oscars

At the end of February we had an Oscar Party at the CMR. I’ve never been to an Oscar Party, and I’ve always wanted to go to one. I’ve also haven’t had the right cable package (if at all) for the last 10 years, so I haven’t even seen the Oscars. So I was pretty excited.

We were supposed to dress up as a character or actress from either a past or present nominated film. I didn’t have much in the way of costume material. But I am blonde and have a few retro blouses, so I decided to go as Marilyn Monroe. She was nominated for Best Motion Picture Actress in Comedy or Musical for Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, which is one of my favorites…but more for Jane Russell’s character than for hers. And Michelle Williams was nominated for and won about 30 awards for her portrayal of Marilyn in My Week with Marilyn. So it worked on two levels.

One of my embassy friends is an awesome stylist and did a fantastic job turning my long hair into a faux bob. (Now that I’m 40, I should probably get a more age appropriate cut, but I wear it up all the time anyway.) I slathered on the bright red lipstick and we were off!

The event went really well. Lots of people got into the spirit. There were two big screens for movie watching, a red carpet, and fun Hollywood-style table tents for the tables on the patio. I had a great time chatting with friends and co-workers, and puckering at people. The ironic part was that I didn’t watch a single part of the awards show. Sigh, maybe next year.

EFM Jobs

Another big thing that happened last month is that my hubby got a job at the embassy, yay!! I was (and still am) so excited for him. As much fun as it is to play video games and hang out with our toddler, he was dying to get out of the house and interact with more people during the day.

To protect his privacy, I won’t go into great detail about what position he filled. But for a great post on EFM jobs and how hard they are to come by, click on over to Tabbies in Tow and read her article titled “The EFM Work Situation.”

Socializing

We filled up most of March with hanging out with our friends around town, going to BBQ’s, brunches, kids b-day parties, and picnics at the Mayan ruins nearby. Tonight we’re excited to be going out with some other friends (actually it’s probably the same friends) that also have a toddler for dinner and drinks. Yay for babysitters!! We plan on filling out the rest of the month with a dive trip and an Easter egg hunt. Woo hoo!

