I love art. I really should spend more time with it. I like realism, particularly late 1800s with Greek and Roman themes such as Sir Lawrence Alma-Tadema. I have a special place in my heart for Art Nouveau and the Pre-Raphaelite works of John William Waterhouse and Lord Frederic Leighton. Impressionism is okay. Monet does good things with light and color and French architecture. But I’m not a fan of modern. I can’t stand Picasso and cubism. I went through a rebellious phase in my 20s and connected with Salvador Dali…and body piercing, but we won’t go there.  Gauguin’s stuff is colorful but elementary (some people like that). And I always thought Rousseau would’ve made a great children’s book illustrator. But I never got into post-impressionism or primitivism…until now…until I saw this. I LOVE this painting. Don’t know how I missed it. But I guess that’s the beauty of art. One day you look at something, and you see a bit of your soul looking back at you.

Henri Rousseau, Woman Walking in an Exotic Forest (Femme se promenant dans une foret exotique), 1905

