As the title suggests, today I went to the coolest veterinarian’s office ever. I selected it from a list of Google search results based on proximity and reviews and was simply hoping it would be decent and not in the ghetto. Like in any big city, you can be driving around DC and change neighborhoods dramatically in a few short blocks. Happily, that did not happen today.

It’s called the Arlington Animal Hospital, and it has a wonderfully friendly staff, decent prices and really neat history. I took our cat in to get her health certificate so we can drag her on a plane next week. (Next week?? Holy crap!) They copied her immunization records, gave her a gentle (yet thorough) physical exam, scanned her microchip, asked me a few clinical questions, declared her healthy enough to travel, and gave me three signed certificates in case I needed copies.

They were so nice to her that when they let go of her, and we all expected her to run for the safety of the mesh carrier, she tucked her head in and leaned against the vet tech. We were all equally astonished, and the vet team was thrilled that at least one animal that day wasn’t scratching and clawing to get away from them.

Kitty does really well on vet trips. She’s so quiet in the car that I forget she’s on the passenger seat half the time. She used to love her carrier, but the last few trips have convinced her that nothing good awaits her. I’m sure I’d feel the same way if someone manually expressed my anal glands. And just in case you’re wondering, no, that’s not her real name, but I haven’t used anyone else’s so far, so why start now?

The other thing that I really enjoyed was the hospital’s history. They have been in the same building since it was built in 1938. It is not run by the same family, but there have only been five veterinarians who have owned it in the last 73 years. I think that says a lot about the quality and commitment of the staff.

Here’s a picture of the building looking almost exactly like it did in the ‘30s. In the waiting room there are about half a dozen historic photos on the walls, simple benches and a toasty fireplace. Obviously they didn’t need it today because it was 92 degrees outside.

Anyway, if you’re ever in the Arlington area and in need of vet services, I highly recommend the Arlington Animal Hospital. There’s a fun interview with the vet we saw today, who is also the current owner, Dr. Fred Jones, on Pike Wire titled “Dr. Fred and the Stomach-Shaped Ball of Glue“.

Arlington Animal Hospital

