Here’s a pic of my future office, the embassy in Belmopan. For security purposes, we’re not really encouraged to take pictures of government buildings. But this image was on the State Department’s public website, so I’m not that worried about it. Note the concrete construction, which means that is is hurricane proof!
 

U.S. Embassy Belmopan

 
Diving is one of the biggest recreational attractions in Belize. It has the second largest barrier reef in the world after Australia. And the Blue Hole in Lighthouse Reef is a destination in itself. It’s a sinkhole a little over 60 miles east of Belize City that is full of sealife and drops to a depth of about 400 feet. I have my Open Water dive certification, but I’m afraid of heights, so you won’t find me swimming over a hole that big. It’s weird, I know, because you can’t fall. But there it is. I wouldn’t mind hanging around the edge though.
  

Great Blue Hole

 
There is also a lot of amazing wildlife. I plan to do a separate post on the big cats in the area just because they’re so cool. Belize has two notable animal parks: the Belize Zoo on the West Coast Highway and the Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Sanctuary and Jaguar Preserve…although that last one isn’t really a park. It’s 200 square miles of open jungle, so the odds of seeing a jaguar are rather slim. But the Belize Zoo is supposed to be pretty neat. It’s small but full of only indigenous species. So you get an opportunity to see a lot of the nocturnal and more isolated creatures that you wouldn’t normally see on your own. 
 

Jaguar

 
And of course there are a ton of Mayan sites. I’ve read that there are anywhere from 900 to “thousands”, which would be impressive considering the size of the country. But there are definitely some major ones: Caracol, Xunantunich, Altun Ha, Lamanai, and Lubaantun. Lubaantun was the discovery site of the controversial Mitchell-Hedges crystal skull in 1926. Makes you feel like Indiana Jones. Hopefully I’ll never find myself covered in tarantulas.
 

Altun Ha

 
 That oughta keep us busy for a while.
